CBR Aotearoa Fellows Announced

The CBR is pleased to announce the appointment of the two new Aotearoa Foundation Neuroscience Postdoctoral Fellows at the Centre for Brain Research. Dr Gjurgjica Badzakova-Trajkov and Dr James Coxon will take up the posts in the near future.

The new fellowships are a generous gift from Julian Robertson’s Aotearoa Foundation in New York. They aim to support development of the Centre’s strategic initiatives, to help foster future research leaders here in New Zealand, and to progress world-class neuroscience research across the Centre for Brain Research. With a large number of excellent candidates, appointing the fellows was an extremely difficult and challenging task for the selection panel.

Dr Gjurgjica Badzakova completed her PhD in Psychology at the University of Auckland in 2008, and is completing a Diploma of Clinical Psychology.  She is currently a Postdoctoral Fellow with Professor Corballis in the Department of Psychology.  She will work in the laboratory of Dr Lynette Tippett, along with Dr Suzanne Barker-Collo, Professor Mike Corballis and Professor Rob Kydd. Her project involves using Diffusion Tensor Imaging to examine white matter nerve tracts in patients who have had a Traumatic Brain Injury.

Dr James Coxon was a Bright Futures Doctoral Scholar and completed his PhD in 2007 at the University of Auckland.  He holds a post-doctoral fellowship in the Research Centre for Movement Control and Neuroplasticity at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven in Belgium.  When he returns to New Zealand he will work in the laboratory of Professor Winston Byblow, along with Professor Greg Anson, Dr James Stinear and Dr Nick Gant. His project will use Magnetic Resonance Imaging and Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation to examine whether exercise can protect against neurodegeneration with aging.

We congratulate these two inaugural Aotearoa Fellows and look forward to welcoming them to the CBR.

There is one more Fellowship to appoint in 2012, and further announcements will made early in the year.